Organised by The Big Draw, Founder and core supporter: The Guild of St. George

For all updates on The John Ruskin Prize please visit:

The next call for entries will be announced soon, please sign up here to receive the call.

The John Ruskin Prize is the fastest growing multi-disciplinary art prize in the UK. With the values of the radical polymath John Ruskin at it's core, the #RuskinPrize has a growing reputation for supporting and promoting artists, designers and makers whose work defies easy categorisation.

‘The greatest thing a human being ever does in this world is to see something… To see clearly is poetry, prophecy and religion all in one’. - John Ruskin

Read our interview with Clive Wilmer, Former Master of The Guild of St George here.

The 5th John Ruskin Prize

Highlights from the launch and prize giving of The 5th John Ruskin Prize: Agent of Change held on 11 July 2019, The Holden Gallery, Manchester. Exhibition continues until 24 August 2019 more information here.

The John Ruskin Prize 2019 Winners announced: PRESS RELEASE 15.07.2019


Selected from a record number of entries, prize organisers visual literacy charity The Big Draw joined with the prize’s founder and core supporter The Guild of St George (the education charity set up by Ruskin) announce the shortlist for The John Ruskin Prize 2019.

With an overwhelming response to the 2019 theme: Agent of Change, 41 artists and designers, working across a broad range of disciplines, were selected from over 1260 entries for The John Ruskin Prize 2019. The selection panel considered over 3000 artworks, and after an difficult multi-stage selection process, the prize founders and organisers announced the shortlist in May 2019.


Balal Aquil /  Omid Asadi / Lucy Burscough / Tracey Bush / Duncan Cameron / Faye Claridge / Judy Clarkson / Wayne Clough / Connor Coulston / Sarah Craske / Smout Allen Design Research /  Sarah Duncan /  Lisa Earley / Kate Genever /  Nigel Goldsmith /  Evagelia Hagikalfa /  Martin Hearne /  Michelle Heron /  Harriet Mena Hill / Marguerite Horner / Benedict Hughes / Juliette Losq / Pinkie Maclure / Farwa Moledina / Julie Moss / Fronc Ng / Kazuki Nishinaga /  Shanti Panchal / Lucy Pass / Lee John Phillips / Hilary Powell / Mike S Redmond & Faye Coral Johnson / Gabrielle Roberts-Dalton / Conor Rogers / Katrin Spranger / Emilia Symis / Kathy Taylor / Danny Treacy / Chao Wang / Pip Woolf / Colin Yates


Hew Locke, Artist; Barbara walker MBE, Artist; Jessie Brennan, Artist; Dr Rachel Dickinson, Director of Education, Guild of St George and Principal Lecturer Department of Interdisciplinary Studies, Manchester Metropolitan University; Dr Jonathan Foyle, Architectural Historian, Broadcaster & Artist, Professor Tim Brennan, Artist & Head of Art, Manchester Metropolitan University and Kate Mason, Director, The Big Draw

Shortlist ExhibitionAgent of Change’ curated by: Rachel Price and Zoe Watson


With the values of the radical polymath and social justice pioneer John Ruskin at its core, and with his legacy in the spotlight in this bicentenary year, we are proud that the themes explored through The John Ruskin Prize resonate so strongly with creatives working across the nation. Thank you to everyone who submitted to this years prize.

The John Ruskin Prize is Organised by The Big Draw. Our founder and core supporter is The Guild of St George, the charity set up by John Ruskin in 1871.


The Big Draw is proud to be joining with organisations across the world to mark the bicentenary of John Ruskin’s birth this year with a series of special events exploring Ruskin’s radical and increasingly relevant ideas on society, culture, politics, environmental issues and everything in between. A true polymath and social justice pioneer, Ruskin’s legacy will be explored through exhibitions, talks, publications and workshops. A selection of upcoming eventscan be found here.